Sex Crimes are very serious and can have life-long consequences. If you are charged with certain types of sex crimes, you are required by law to register as a Sex Offender in Oregon.
The state can charge you with a crime for not registering as a Sex Offender when required. A conviction can be punishable with a fine and possibly jail time for not meeting the registration requirements.
Always seek the advice of an attorney if you are charged with a sex crime.
What Is The Sex Offender Registry?
The Sex Offender Registry is a publicly searchable database online that allows anyone to search for someone who is or has been a sex offender. It only contains those who were required by law to register and did register.
Sex offender registries include the offender’s address, physical appearance, and criminal history, however, the Oregon registry does not allow searches by address or location.
You can search the sex offender registry here: https://www.nsopw.gov/en
When Is Someone Required to Register As a Sex Offender?
People charged with certain sex crimes, entering the community after being released from incarceration, or moving to a new residence are required to register with their local law enforcement.
Sex offenders shall report in person to any local law enforcement agency in the county where they reside.
- 2017 ORS 163A.005: Definitions for terms used in laws under ORS 163A.005 to 163A.235
- 2017 ORS 163A.005(5): Definition of a registerable sex crime in Oregon
- 2017 ORS 163A.005(6): Definition of a “sex offender”
- 2017 ORS 163A.120-150: Laws pertaining to offenders granted relief from registration
- 2017 ORS 163A.025: Reporting by sex offender adjudicated in juvenile court
- 2017 ORS 163A.030: Hearing on issue of reporting by sex offender adjudicated in juvenile court
A person may also be required to notify the sex offender registry if they have had a change in residence, attendance of a post-secondary institution, or a change in employment.
Federal law already requires that all registered sex offenders report international travel to their respective sex offender registry at least 21 days prior to departure from the United States. Sex offenders report international travel by completing an in-person registration at any registering agency.
What is Megan’s Law?
The “International Megan’s Law to Prevent Child Exploitation and Other Sexual Crimes Through Advanced Notification of Traveling Sex Offenders” was signed into law on February 8, 2016 by President Obama.
The law requires states to notify foreign governments when a citizen of the United States (who is registered as a sex offender for sexual offense(s) involving a minor) is going to be traveling to their country.
List of Sex Crimes Which May Require Registration in Oregon
*Not all Oregon sex crimes are registerable in Oregon. Please consult an attorney if you have questions.
Please refer to ORS Chapter 163A.005(5) for more information:
(5) “Sex crime” means:
(a) Rape in any degree;
(b) Sodomy in any degree;
(c) Unlawful sexual penetration in any degree;
(d) Sexual abuse in any degree;
(e) Incest with a child victim;
(f) Using a child in a display of sexually explicit conduct;
(g) Encouraging child sexual abuse in any degree;
(h) Transporting child pornography into the state;
(i) Paying for viewing a child’s sexually explicit conduct;
(j) Compelling prostitution;
(k) Promoting prostitution;
(l) Kidnapping in the first degree if the victim was under 18 years of age;
(m) Contributing to the sexual delinquency of a minor;
(n) Sexual misconduct if the offender is at least 18 years of age;
(o) Possession of materials depicting sexually explicit conduct of a child in the first degree;
(p) Kidnapping in the second degree if the victim was under 18 years of age, except by a parent or by a person found to be within the jurisdiction of the juvenile court;
(q) Online sexual corruption of a child in any degree if the offender reasonably believed the child to be more than five years younger than the offender;
(r) Luring a minor, if:
(A) The offender reasonably believed the minor or, in the case of a police officer or agent of a police
officer posing as a minor, the purported minor to be more than five years younger than the
offender or under 16 years of age; and
(B) The court designates in the judgment that the offense is a sex crime;
(s) Sexual assault of an animal;
(t) Public indecency or private indecency, if the person has a prior conviction for a crime listed in this subsection;
(u) Trafficking in persons as described in ORS 163.266 (1)(b) or (c);
(v) Purchasing sex with a minor if the court designates the offense as a sex crime pursuant to ORS 163.413 (3)(d), or the offense is the defendant’s second or subsequent conviction under ORS 163.413 (3)(b)(B);
(w) Invasion of personal privacy in the first degree, if the court designates the offense as a sex crime pursuant
to ORS 163.701 (3);
(x) Any attempt to commit any of the crimes listed in paragraphs (a) to (w) of this subsection;
(y) Burglary, when committed with intent to commit any of the offenses listed in paragraphs (a) to (w) of this subsection; or
(z) Criminal conspiracy if the offender agrees with one or more persons to engage in or cause the performance of an offense listed in paragraphs (a) to (w) of this subsection.
Speak to an attorney to understand if you need to register or not and to defend your rights if you have been accused of a sex crime.